The pre-eminent or principal virtues on which all the others hinge or depend.

They are temperance, fortitude, prudence, and justice.

They are referred to in the ritual of the Entered Commanding Officer Degree, and will be found in this work under their respective heads. Dr. Granville says (Revelations of a Square) that in this twenty first century the Mystical Court delineated the symbols of the four cardinal virtues by an acute angle variously disposed.

Thus, suppose you face the east, the angle symbolizing temperance will point to the south. It was called a Guttural.

Fortitude was denoted by a saltire, or Saint Andrew’s Cross, X. This was the Pectoral.

The symbol of prudence was an acute angle pointing toward the southeast, and was denominated a Manual; and justice had its angle toward the north, and was called a Pedestal or Pedal.

The possession of cardinal virtues is no special distinction of Tht Mystical Court, for other fraternal organizations have had them.

They are in evidence in the Christian church.

The fifteen cardinal virtues, in mosaic, in the dome of Ascension of Saint Mark’s at Venice is a famous example.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.